Frankie goes to…

As the proud owners of two cockapoos, we soon discovered that the increase from one dog to two meant that even greater care needed to be taken when choosing our dog friendly holiday accommodation. Now an important part of our family, Freya and Frankie will always be joining us on our future travels in the UK.

Freya and Frankie sitting in a field of wild flowers on holiday

Here, Freya’s little sister Frankie reports back on all the places we stay with Review Blogs published after each visit. Frankie awards up to FIVE PAWS for:

Please note: I have no alliance, involvement or receive payment from any of the venues listed; these are purely based on our personal experiences as we travel around with our fluffy companions.

Recent stays

Frankie went to the New Forest

Boutique Bed & Breakfast venue The Spot in the Woods

Date of stay: 7, 8 and 9 August 2020. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to Shropshire

The Castle Hotel, Bishops Castle

Date of stay: 26, 27, 28, 29 August 2020. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to Church Bay, Anglesey

Gwlgri Holiday Cottage (former farmhouse)

Date of stay: 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, September 2020. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to Ambleside, The English Lakes

Holiday Cottage – The River House

Date of stay: 24 September to 3 October 2020. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to Whitby, North Yorkshire

Date of stay: 20 to 23 April 2021. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to Bassenthwaite, The English Lakes

Private Hotel – Ravenstone Manor

Date of stay: Friday 21 to Sunday 23 May 2021. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to the Bodnant Estate, Colwyn Bay in North Wales

Holiday Cottage – Ty Ucha’r Ffordd

Date of stay: Saturday 6 to Saturday 13 November 2021. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to Kirby Bellars, Leicestershire

Holiday Barn – Poplars Farm

Date of stay: Monday 27 to Thursday 30 December 2021. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie goes to The Swan Hotel, Hay-on-Wye, Hereford

Date of stay: Friday 6 to Sunday 8 May 2022 – Review on its way!

What they say – Absolutely nothing about dogs being welcome, but we know they do welcome them as the hotel was recommended by our fellow doodle, Meester Mylo. Our parents have been to the Hay Literary Festival loads of times, but never been able to book a room at The Swan, it’s so popular. So we’re giving it a go and will let you know how we get on.

Up and coming stays

Frankie goes to The Black Horse Inn, Kirkby Fleetham, North Yorkshire

Date of stay: Friday 12 to Sunday 14 August 2022

What they say – Only that the Black Horse Inn is dog friendly. When you book online there’s a comment box to advise if you’re bringing a dog which then adds £20 per night to the cost.