Frankie goes to…

As the proud owners of two cockapoos, we soon discovered that the increase from one dog to two meant that even greater care needed to be taken when choosing our dog friendly holiday accommodation. Now an important part of our family, Freya and Frankie will always be joining us on our future travels, both in the UK and Europe.

Freya and Frankie sitting in a field of wild flowers on holiday

So far – COVID willing – we have five trips planned in 2021 and Freya’s little sister Frankie, will be reporting back on the places we stay. The blogs will be published after each visit with Frankie awarding up to five paws for:

Recent stays

Frankie went to the New Forest

Boutique Bed & Breakfast venue The Spot in the Woods

Date of stay: 7, 8 and 9 August 2020. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to Shropshire

The Castle Hotel, Bishops Castle

Date of stay: 26, 27, 28, 29 August 2020. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to Church Bay, Anglesey

Gwlgri Holiday Cottage (former farmhouse)

Date of stay: 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, September 2020. You can read Frankie’s review here.

Frankie went to Ambleside, The English Lakes

Holiday Cottage – The River House

Date of stay: 24 September to 3 October 2020. You can read our review here.

Up and coming stays

Frankie goes to Whitby, North Yorkshire

Tuesday 20 to Friday 23 April 2021

airbnb Holiday Home – Caedmon House: What they say

Two well behaved dogs welcome.

Frankie goes to Bassenthwaite, The English Lakes

Friday 21 to Sunday 23 May 2021

Privately owned hotel – Ravenstone Manor Hotel: What they say

“Dog Friendly: Dogs are allowed everywhere except the kitchens and the sofas in the sitting room. We think it is unkind to lock your dog into a strange room so it can stay with you at all times.”

  • A garden and easy short walks straight from the hotel
  • Temperature controlled wash station for dirty paw days

Frankie goes to Anglesey, Wales

Saturday 2 October to Saturday 9 October 2021

Holiday Cottage – Manadwyn, Menai Holiday Cottages: What they say

“1 well behaved dogs welcome.”
This is a holiday with girlfriends and we negotiated with the owner for two dogs assuring Freya and Frankie are very well behaved and don’t shed.

Frankie goes to Bodnant Estate, Colwyn Bay

Saturday 6 to Saturday 13 November

Holiday Cottage – Ty Ucha’r Ffordd, Rural Retreats: What they say

Two dogs allowed. Your dog is welcome at the property (small additional charge); due to nearby livestock, please keep your pet under careful control. Enclosed garden, part of which is on a slope with a level sitting area in front of the cottage commanding the view and others behind the cottage.

Frankie goes to Kirby Bellars, Leicestershire

Postponed in 2020 due to COVID. Planned for December 2021

Holiday Cottage – The Big Barn, Poplars Farm: What they say

Your four-legged friends are welcome, but please be responsible as we are surrounded by grazing sheep and pecking hens.